Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Aerith Cloud Tifa

Everything We Know About Final Fantasy VII Rebirth

Ever since Square Enix first teased the possibility of a Final Fantasy VII remake, fans of the role-playing game have eagerly awaited its developments. In making the decision to remake the 1997 classic in three parts, the developer released the first part in 2020. And now, Final Fantasy VII Rebirth has appeared on the horizon.

And that second part will arrive in just a few months. Hot off the success of the first, anticipation—and expectations—for Rebirth have mounted higher and higher. Here we have info for those who are curious about the game and those familiar with it seeking more intel.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Chocobo Ranch

What is Final Fantasy VII Rebirth?

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth is the second part of a three-part trilogy remaking the fantasy RPG Final Fantasy VII. The original 1997 game tells the story of a group of unlikely heroes. They set off to save the planet in response to threats from a greedy corporation and a former war hero turned adversary. The original game is considered one of the most beloved RPGs of all time, famous for its characters, such as Cloud, Aerith, and Sephiroth, and one devastating plot point.

In 2020, the Final Fantasy VII Remake arrived. The adaptation of the original game traded the turn-based combat of the 90s game for real-time combat. Along the way, it also made some story changes as well, especially towards the end. Leaving off at the heroes’ escape from the city of Midgar, it sets up Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, part two of the remake trilogy.

To tide players over, Square Enix released Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade, a PlayStation 5 re-release of the Remake featuring a new section introducing Yuffie. Taking place alongside Remake, Intermission tells a new story about the hot-headed ninja, setting up their introduction in Rebirth.

How much of the original Final Fantasy VII does Rebirth adapt?

While Final Fantasy VII Remake adapted a relatively small portion of the original game, Rebirth will take on a much larger portion of the plot. Starting off with Cloud, Aerith, Tifa, Barrett, and Red XIII having escaped Midgar, it continues with their pursuit of Sephiroth.

From there, the gang will journey to the port city of Junon, the beachside resort of Costa Del Sol, the entertainment hub of the Gold Saucer, the mystical Cosmo Canyon, Cloud and Tifa’s home of Nibelheim, and the Forgotten Capital. Square Enix has stated that the game will feature all of the major locales from this stretch of the original. However, players won’t necessarily visit them in their original order.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Junon

Do I need to play Final Fantasy VII Remake to understand Rebirth?

Square Enix has stated that players won’t need to play Remake to understand Rebirth. Co-Director Motomu Toriyama shared on X that “we have made preparations so that players who did not get a chance to play the first game can fully enjoy Final Fantasy VII Rebirth.”

That said, if you haven’t played Remake, you really should check it out. First, because it sets up some of the plot deviations that Rebirth will feature. Even if you’ve played the original Final Fantasy VII, this trilogy takes place in a kind of alternate universe.

Second, you should play Remake because it’s a great game. In our review, we said that “Final Fantasy VII Remake stays true to the spirit of the original game but ultimately carves its own path.” Final Fantasy VII Remake has fun real-time combat, lovable characters, and an engaging plot. We’ll see how Rebirth builds upon this.

The upcoming game will introduce even more characters like Vincent, Yuffie, and Cait Sith. Cait Sith had a cameo in Remake, and Yuffie starred as the protagonist in IntermissionRebirth will also feature new minigames and, of course, all new locations. Reportedly, it will have over 100 hours of content.

And if that’s not enough, players who have saved data from Remake on their PlayStation 5 can access special summons in Rebirth. While the save data itself won’t transfer, those with Remake can gain access to Leviathan. And those with Intermission data can get Ramuh.

Will *that* infamous death scene occur in Rebirth?

Yes, but maybe not exactly. While I don’t want to spoil anything, those who have played the original Final Fantasy VII will know of a tragic and unpreventable death that occurs in the middle of the story. Even those who haven’t played the game likely know of its significance.

Since Rebirth’s story will go as far as the location where that occurs, it will adapt it. Square Enix cheekily confirmed this with Producer Yoshinori Kitase saying, “We know fans are dying to see one scene in particular.” Remake even teased this major scene in a flash-forward. That said, Remake has altered the fates of other characters. Who’s to say Rebirth won’t do the same for a fan favorite? Nevertheless, it could still occur in ways we won’t expect.

Does Final Fantasy VII Rebirth have a release date?

This September, Square Enix provided February 29th, 2024, as the release date. Previous reports stated that the game would arrive next winter, with some specifying 2023. Still, February 29th isn’t far off.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth will retail with a standard edition, deluxe edition, and collector’s edition. Most retailers have posted preorders already, with some offering exclusive bonuses, like a Final Fantasy VII baseball cap for those who preorder through GameStop.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth will debut as a PlayStation 5 exclusive. The exclusivity will last until at least May 29th, 2024, upon which it could come to PC.