What is Xbox’s Smart Delivery and will PlayStation have something similar?

I’m sure by now you’ve heard of a “new” feature that Microsoft has been touting as a feature for the upcoming Xbox Series X, that being Smart Delivery.

But what exactly is it and how does it differ from just getting an upgraded version of a game? Does PlayStation 5 have something similar? I’m glad you asked, as I’ve had some concerns surrounding this as well. So let’s see if we can clear up any confusion, shall we?


Smart Delivery, as termed by Microsoft, is a platform feature that ensures that when a person purposes a game on the Xbox One (Xbox One S/X), that they’ll receive an upgraded version if they upgrade to the Xbox Series X. Once they purchased that shiny new console and hook it up, they’ll automatically receive the upgraded version. This will also support cross-save, so your game saves will also transfer between the two consoles. Or at least, that’s how we’re being told this is how it will work. As it sounds on paper, this will be handled on the backend. Of course, this will also depend on the publishers agreeing to be in the “Smart Delivery Program”.

So to recap, all Smart Delivery games will get you an Xbox One and Xbox Series X copies of games.

So right now you’re probably saying “Keith, this just sounds like cross-buy” and to which you would be correct. Smart Delivery is just a fancy way of saying cross-buy but is also being incorporated from day one. Again, the only way this wouldn’t ‘t happen is if a developer or publisher decides to not partake in this program. This is important to note, as EA has stated they will not be part of this program and will offer its own upgrade path. Meaning they’ll provide limited upgrades, and if you miss the window of opportunity then you’ll have to pay to upgrade.

So far there all of the announced games heading to Xbox that will support Smart Delivery.

  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
  • Call of the Sea
  • Chorus
  • Cyberpunk 2077
  • Halo Infinite
  • Hellblade 2
  • Gears 5
  • Dirt 5
  • Destiny 2
  • Scarlet Nexus
  • Second Extinction
  • The Ascent
  • Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines 2
  • Yakuza: Like a Dragon
  • Metal: Hellsinger
  • Marvel’s Avengers

Keep an eye on this list as it will continue to grow.

So what about PlayStation? Well, this is where things start to get confusing again. As it stands right now, PlayStation doesn’t have a feature like Smart Delivery, which again is just a cross-buy program. Instead, they are leaving it up to the publishers on if they’ll offer free upgrades when you upgrade to the PlayStation 5. This was confirmed when several outlets contacted Sony, to which they replied that providing an upgrade path will be done at the publisher’s discretion.

PlayStation 5 Front Glamourshot-01

So far we know that the following titles have upgrade paths for the PlayStation 5.

Meaning Sony doesn’t plan on providing a feature similar to Smart Delivery, at least for now anyway. They could easily change their mind, just like they did when it came to supporting cross-play.

So there you have it, hopefully, this explanation has made it easier to understand what Smart Delivery is, who supports it and what games are includes so far.

If you enjoyed this article or if it helped you out, please let us know in the comments!