Crunchyroll is back again with the third annual Anime Awards and the nominees are here! It doesn’t get any simpler than that so let’s just jump right in to see how many categories My Hero Academia is slated to win this year! :)

Best Protagonist

  • Retsuko (Aggretsuko)
  • Yumeko Jabami (Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler)
  • Joe (Megalobox)
  • Violet Evergarden (Violet Evergarden)
  • Rimuru Tempest (That Time I got Reincarnated as a Slime)
  • Sakuta Azusagawa (Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai)

Best Antagonist

  • Ryo Asuka (Devilman Crybaby)
  • Akane Shinjo (SSSS.Gridman)
  • All for One (My Hero Academia)
  • Yuri (Megalobox)
  • Tokushiro Tsurumi (Golden Kamuy)
  • Momonga (Overlord)

Best Boy

  • Kotaro Tatsumi (Zombieland Saga)
  • Honda-san (Skull-Face Bookseller Honda-san)
  • Izuku Midoriya (My Hero Academia)
  • Sakuta Azusagawa (Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai)
  • Haida (Aggretsuko)
  • Joe (Megalobox)

Best Girl

  • Anzu (Hinamatsuri)
  • Hinata Miyake (A Place Further Than the Universe)
  • Lily Hoshikawa (Zombieland Saga)
  • Asirpa (Golden Kamuy)
  • Nadeshiko Kagamihara (Laid-Back Camp)
  • Mai Sakurajima (Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai)

Best Opening Sequence

  • Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku
  • Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
  • Pop Team Epic
  • Aggretsuko
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

Best Ending Sequence

  • Megalobox
  • Attack on Titan III
  • After the Rain
  • FLCL Alternative
  • Revue Starlight
  • FLCL Progressive

Best VA Performance (Japanese)

  • Mamoru Miyano (Kotaro Tatsumi – Zombieland Saga)
  • Soma Saito (Honda-san – Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san)
  • Megumi Han (Miki Makimura – Devilman Crybaby)
  • Nao Toyama (Rin Shima – Laid-back Camp)
  • Rareko (Netsuko – Aggrestuko)
  • Reida Ueda (Akane Shinjo – SSSS.Gridman)

Best VA Performance (English)

  • Kari Wahigren (Haruko Haruhara – FLCL Progressive)
  • Christopher Sabat (All Might – My Hero Academia)
  • Erica Mendez (Netsuko – Aggretsuko)
  • David Wald (Narrator – Mr. Tonegawa: Middle Management Blues)
  • Tia Ballard (Zero Two – DARLING in the FRANXX)
  • Erika Hariacher (Violet Evergarden – Violet Evergarden)

Best Director

  • Makasaki Yuasa (Devilman Crybaby)
  • Atsuko Ishizuka (A Place Further Than the Universe)
  • You Moriyama (Megalobox)
  • Yohei Suzuki (Planet With)
  • Taichi Ishidate (Violet Evergarden)
  • Hiroko Utsumi (Banana Fish)

Best Animation

  • Violet Evergarden
  • Devilman Crybaby
  • Megalobox
  • A Place Further Than the Universe
  • Bloom Into You
  • My Hero Academia

Best Film

  • The Night is Short, Walk On Girl
  • My Hero Academia: Two Heroes
  • Mirai of the Future
  • Liz and the Blue Bird
  • Mazinger Z: Infinity
  • Fireworks

Best Character Design

  • Violet Evergarden 
  • Devilman Crybaby
  • Zombieland Saga
  • Megalobox
  • Aggrestuko
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

Anime of the Year

  • A Place Further Then the Universe
  • Devilman Crybaby
  • Megalobox
  • Violet Evergarden
  • Hinamatsuri
  • Zombieland Saga

Best Fight Scene

  • Hina vs Anzu (Hinamatsuri)
  • All for One vs All Might (My Hero Academia)
  • Naruto & Sasuke vs Momoshiki (Boruto: Naruto Next Generations)
  • Jiren vs Goku (Dragon Ball Super)
  • Yami vs Licht (Black Clover)
  • Satan vs Devilman (Devilman Crybaby)

*This category is presented by Capcom

Best Continuing Series

  • The Ancient Magus’ Bride
  • Dragon Ball Super
  • Black Clover
  • March Comes in Like A Lion
  • One Piece
  • Boruto: Naruto Next Generations

*This category is presented by VRV

There you have it! All of the nominees for this year’s Crunchyroll Anime Awards! I will be back with an editorial breaking down each category and offering up my pick who I think will win, who I think the fans will pick, and who I think should have been nominated instead. Look forward to that!

In the meantime, you can go vote on your favorites right now. Click Here

About The Author

Josh Piedra

Josh (or J.J. as some have come to call him), is a long-time geek culture enthusiast with a deep passion for anime, manga and Japanese culture. Josh also has a Bachelor of Arts in Game Design and is a creative writer who has created original content for over 20 years! He is also the author of the original English light novel Final Hope.