** Sony claims they’ve addressed the issue **

If you own a PlayStation 4, then you need to stop what you’re doing and read up. Apparently, there’s a new exploit going around that can brick your PlayStation 4 console. 

As being reported by multiple sources, there is a rash of messages when sent to random PlayStation 4 accounts. The bad news is that you don’t even have to open the message to be affected. If the message gets to the system, the damage is already done. What it does is render your console useless – Your controller will stop working, audio will become quiet and trying to log into the PS4 can result in a crash. Definitely not something you want to experience when you’re trying to enjoy a game.

Now there seem to be some conflicting reports on how to resolve this. Some are claiming that if you remove the message using the PlayStation Messages App, then you don’t have to factory reset your console. While others are claiming that even after they removed the app, this issue still occurs. Forcing them to either factory reset their PS4.

Update: Seems that if you simply rebuild the PS4 database, this also works. You won’t need to factory reset the console. To do this follow the steps below.

  1. Firstly power off your console, using either the power button or by removing the power source.
  2. To turn on the PS4 into Safe mode, Press and Hold down the power button on the front of the PS4, until the console beeps twice.
  3. Connect your DualShock controller using the USB cable.
  4. Press the PS button on the controller to pair devices.

This puts you in Safe Mode. 

  1. Proceed to option “Rebuild Database” and press X to confirm.
  2. “The database will be rebuilt, it might take a few hours to rebuild the database” will be displayed, Select OK.
  3. The screen will go blank whilst the Database is being rebuilt and this could take a few hours depending on the amount of saved content.
  4. When the Rebuild has finished the console will return to the sign in screen.

Once this is done, you’ll be able to access your PlayStation 4, normally.

The best way to make sure you aren’t affected is by heading to the PlayStation messenger privacy and changing this to either “Friends Only” or “Private”. Doing this will prevent the persons from ever messaging you – unless they’re actually a friend of yours.

PlayStation 4 messenging setting

If you already received the message, but sure then block and report whoever sent it to you.

We’ve reached out to Sony for comment and will update this story when here back from them. Hopefully, they’re already aware of the issue and are working on a patch, right now.

About The Author

Keith Mitchell
Editor-in-chief and all-around good guy!

Keith Mitchell is the Founder and Editor in Chief of The Outerhaven. A grizzled IT professional during the day, but a passionate lover of video games after his 9-5 grid. Loves playing the Dark Souls series and has been gaming since he was 6 years old. You can find him on Twitter as @Shadowhaxor or you can email her at keith.mitchell@theouterhaven.net.

error: