Marvel Vs Capcom: Infinite Releasing On Consoles And PC This September

Capcom has just revealed that Marvel Vs Capcom: Infinite will see a September 19th, 2017, release date. The title will be released on the PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. 

While Marvel Vs Capcom: Infinite was originally shown off during the 2016 PlayStation Experience event, we know have more information about the title. First up, it seems the ultimate evil this time around is a merging of Marvel’s Ultron and Capcom’s Sigma from Mega Man X, who calls himself Ultron Sigma. 

In addition, Marvel Vs Capcom: Infinite will have a fleshed out story, which is something that the previous Marvel Vs entries didn’t feature. It’s also a bit of a rarity as you really don’t see many fighting games including a complete story mode. 

“For the first time in franchise history, the Marvel and Capcom universes collide in a visually stunning and immersive cinematic Story Mode, as heroes and villains battle together to save their merged worlds from a sinister new threat, Ultron Sigma. A combination of the robotic foes known as Ultron from the Marvel Universe and Sigma from the Capcom Universe, this psychotic villain is obsessed with infecting all organic life with a cybernetic virus. History’s greatest gathering of warriors must now unite to fight back against Ultron Sigma and save their newly formed world.”

Pre-orders for Marvel Vs Capcom: Infinite will go live today. Capcom has also announced several different versions of the game. A Standard Edition, for $59.99,  $89.99 for the Deluxe Edition and $199.99 for the Collector’s Edition. The Collector’s Edition will feature four premium character dioramas of Iron Man, Captain Marvel, Mega Man X and Chun-Li, a case filled with six Infinity Stone replicas, and a SteelBook packaging that contains the Deluxe Edition of the game.

It’s interesting to see the first announced characters, as they were previously mentioned in a leak that was circulating the internet. What was once confirmed a rumor has now been confirmed by Capcom. You can see all of the newly announced characters in the story trailer that was released today.

  • Ultron
  • Hulk
  • Thor
  • Hawkeye
  • Rocket Raccoon
  • Chun-Li
  • Strider Hiryu
  • Chris Redfield

These new characters will fight along/against the previously announced characters, Ryu, Mega Man X, Morrigan, Captain Marvel, Captain America and Iron Man. This pushes the total roster up to 14 characters so far. In addition to the story mode, the title will feature a single player Arcade mode, Training and Mission modes. The multiplayer portion will include casual and ranked matches, online lobbies, a spectator mode and global leaderboards.

Expect to hear more regarding the title once E3 2017 rolls around.