New Overwatch Animated Short, Hero, Is on It’s Way

Right on the heels of the last Overwatch animated short, Dragons, which centered around Hanzo and Genji, Blizzard looks to be releasing, yet another, called Hero.  This time the animation will focus on Overwatch hero Soldier 76.

Blizzard described the animated short as follows:

“I didn’t start this war. . .but I’m damn well gonna finish it.”

Old habits die hard for one ex-Overwatch agent in our fourth and final animated short for this season: Hero.

“Hero” follows the masked vigilante Soldier: 76 on a personal mission to Dorado where he’s set to investigate the illegal activities of the Los Muertos gang—but an unexpected complication threatens to compromise his objective.

HPR60IH6GE1B1463546206535

The animated short will premier on Sunday, May 22 at 10:00am PDT / 1:00pm EST on PlayOverwatch.com.  Overwatch is set to launch on Monday, May 23 at 4:00pm PDT / 7:00pm EST on PC, Playstatin 4 and Xbox One. There is still time to pre-order the game as well as the Origins Edition which will get you exclusive skins for five characters as well as digital goods for all of Blizzard’s other games. A physical collector’s edition is also available for $129.99 which includes a steelbook case, a hardcover art book, all of the digital content and a statue of Solider 76.

About The Author

Josh Piedra

Josh (or J.J. as some have come to call him), is a long-time geek culture enthusiast with a deep passion for anime, manga and Japanese culture. Josh also has a Bachelor of Arts in Game Design and is a creative writer who has created original content for over 20 years! He is also the author of the original English light novel Final Hope.