Jamming to Button Masher Remastered, an old school NES/SNES remix album

If there’s one thing I love listening to, it’s video game music and more specifically a good video game remix track or album. It really doesn’t matter what, just as long as it’s well done, well I lied a bit as I do tend to prefer remixes from games of yesteryear. Old games from classic consoles such as the NES, SNES, Sega Genesis and yes even the Sega Master System. I grew up on those systems and enjoyed every minute of game time that they provided to me, my family and friends… those were the days.

So when GameChops hit me up and let me know that they’ve released a new album that centers around old school games like Donkey Kong Country, Mega Man 2 and 3, Chrono Cross and a few others, I had to take a listen to it.Entitled “Button Masher”, this album features 10 remixes of games I previously mentioned and more by composers David Wise, Hiroki Kikuta, Junichi Masuda, Soyo Oka, Takashi Kumegawa, Yasuaki Fujita, Brad Fuller/Hal Canon, Masashi Hamauzu, Takashi Tateishi, and Yasunori Mitsuda. Sadly there’s no Metroid or FZero music included, but I can live with that.

01. Try Hard (Donkey Kong Country 2 – Stickerbrush Symphony)
02. Icy Strings (Secret of Mana – A Bell is Tolling)
03. Midnight Mass (Pokemon Red/Blue – Lavender Town)
04. Mario’s Garage (Super Mario Kart – Rainbow Road)
05. Deep Freeze Shuffle (StarTropics 2 – Ice Age)
06. Hard to Choose (Mega Man 3 – Stage Select)
07. Impending Something (Marble Madness – Stage 2)
08. Staring Off (Final Fantasy X – Mt. Gagazet)
09. The Bubbledrone (Mega Man 2 – Bubble Man)
10. Nostalgic Tides (Chrono Cross – Dream of a Shore)

The album is currently up for sale on Loudr, iTunes, Google Play and Amazon, so if the sampler peaked your interest, why not get a copy of your own. And be sure to send a shout-out to GameChops on twitter and let them know that The Outerhaven sent ya!